go away spammer

Author Topic: Looking for Robotics Graduate Schools  (Read 51783 times)

Offline crossroads1946Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Looking for Robotics Graduate Schools
« on: September 01, 2007, 11:05:08 AM »
Howdy,

I am in my last year of classes for my bachelors degree in computer science and am looking to go on to get a PhD. I'm looking for schools that offer a PhD. in computer science, electrical engineering or ideally, robotics. If anyone knows of any schools with programs that specifically involve robotics, I would really appreciate any help, advice, or information you can give me. CMU is obviously my first choice, but I need to be realistic about where I can get accepted, so I'm looking for a wide range of schools I can apply to. I'm looking to stay in the United States, but where in the US doesn't matter. (I have done research on my own and have come up with a list of schools, but I'd like to get people's thoughts first before I list those schools and ask for specifics on them).

Also, I'm wondering if anyone might have any idea on what my chances of being accepted into a robotics program are. I get decent grades and have a GPA between 3.4 and 3.5 (4.0 scale). I've built a wall following robot for my Microcontroller's class, and am conducting my own research project this year as well (distributed joint control if you're wondering). I know there is a lot more to the admissions process than just this, but do you have to be the best of the best to get into some of these places?

Any information would be greatly helpful and appreciated.

Thanks
Baker

--Just found this site and am quite impressed. Keep up the good work!

Offline Steve Joblin

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2
    • Roebotz
Re: Looking for Robotics Graduate Schools
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2007, 07:51:13 AM »
All the top engineering and science schools have excellent programs... Stamford, MIT, CalTech, etc.